Death of a Tear

[The dead author watches his last tear.]

Today I met a tear on its way,
Meandering past my half-closed eyelash.
It glanced at me with tight-lipped heat,
Murmuring of loss and tragedies.

Slowly it waded across my cheek,
Stopping to ponder on wrongs and misdeeds.
I looked into its eyes to know how it came about so,
But all I could see was my own dismembered soul.

At last as it hung at the edge of my chin,
The dusty earth pulling it along,
It began to quieten down a bit;
And remember some happy moments bygone.

Moments with someone under a crimson sky,
Mindless banter about failed affairs;
Existential angst and broken hearts,
Missed kisses and silent goodbyes.

Much it forgot, and also why it was born,
Living in my eye, though, it had seen all.
Escaped now to the dry shore of my life,
The world, to it, was an inert observation.

As the end came nearer, a calm came over,
Then away it fell, into the jaws of gravity.
I’d rather the light wind had claimed it over,
But it met its fate in the earth’s dusty grave.

Today I met a tear on its way,
Meandering past my half-closed eyelash.
It glanced at me with tight-lipped heat,
Murmuring of loss and tragedies.

Slowly it waded across my cheek,
Stopping to ponder on wrongs and misdeeds.
===Sometimes it shone with a bubbling grief /Trailing behind it a brook of ===grief ===Telling tales of an unforgiving past I looked into its eyes to know how it came about so,
But all I could see was my own dismembered soul.

At last as it hung at the edge of my chin,
The dusty earth pulling it along,
It began to quieten down a bit;
and remember some happy moments (bygone/it had).

Moments with someone (under a crimson sky/in a sunlit field),
Mindless banter about failed affairs;
(Identity/Existential) angst and broken hearts,
Missed kisses and silent goodbyes.

Much it forgot, and also why it was born,
Living in my eye, though, it had seen all.
Escaped now to the dry shore of (my life/its creator),
(The world, to it, was an inert observation/It was a fish without a pond.)

As the end came nearer, a calm came over,
Then away it fell, into the jaws of gravity.
I’d rather the light wind had claimed it over,
But it met its fate in the earth’s dusty grave.

leftover ideas: Tears of awe, emotional Siberia
 
15
Kudos
 
15
Kudos

Now read this

Thinking about ‘Interstellar'

Cooper’s haunted looks sear through. He looks so alone. Out cold inside a black hole, he yearns, and remembers. It is his daughter–back on Earth that he had left with a promise. A promise he now knows he can’t keep. He has failed. ******... Continue →